Sony KDL-70R550A 70-Inch 120Hz 1080p LED HDTV (Black)

Amazon Price: $3,199.99 (as of April 14, 2014 3:54 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Sports, movies and games fill the big screen with incredible detail of Full HD 1080p with Clear Resolution Enhancer, and the remarkable motion clarity of Motionflow XR 240. Internet connectivity is at your fingertips with built-in Wi-Fi, so you can access HD movies, music and more from Amazon Instant Video, Netflix and others1.

Technology

So bright and so thin Powerful yet thin LEDs deliver a radically brighter picture than conventional LCD backlighting. They also help achieve an ultra-slim TV design that looks beautiful in your home. What's more, Sony's Edge LED Backlight technology delivers outstanding contrast, rich colors and enhanced dark-scene detail.

Lifelike motion Watch the football retain its detail during a kickoff and move smoothly as the camera follows it from left to right. Even quick motion seen in action movies appears amazingly realistic as Motionflow XR 240 technology, which takes motion clarity beyond refresh rates, smoothes out the picture where the camera can't for clearer and more natural movement.

Clearly different Fine details and textures appear in whatever you’re watching, even in flat areas. Powered by Sony’s advanced noise reduction algorithm, this technology boosts image clarity with heightened contrast and depth that you won’t find on most televisions.

Receiver-less TV

For DIRECTV customers with a Genie Whole-Home HD DVR, the Sony R550A series allows you to enjoy full DIRECTV service and HD DVR functionality without an additional receiver. Place the Genie Whole-Home HD DVR in any room of the house and enjoy the clean look of your big screen on the wall without the clutter of connecting a DIRECTV receiver to it3.

Go beyond cable with
built-in Wi-Fi Wirelessly stream beautiful, HD entertainment straight from the internet or your home network using built-in Wi-Fi connectivity and open the door to the endless entertainment of the Sony Entertainment Network, where thousands of movies, TV shows, online videos, games and music are always at your fingertips. By connecting to the Internet you can access Full HD 1080p entertainment, 3D content and made-for-TV apps like Amazon Instant Video, Netflix, Pandora, YouTube, Facebook and more1.

Your smartphone, now on TV

Movies, music and apps from your smartphone can now be viewed big on your TV. With two ways to connect Android phones and tablets to the R550A, Sony is helping you add value to the entertainment you already own2,5.

Additional Features
Explore the full range of features and options below.

Your smartphone, now on TV
Movies, music and apps from your smartphone can now be viewed big on your TV. With two ways to connect Android phones and tablets to the R550A, Sony is helping you add value to the entertainment you already own.

1. Using a Mobile High Definition Link cable, you can connect your smartphone to the TV to literally “mirror” what’s seen on the smartphone screen. Video, photos and apps are re-sized and scaled to fit the larger TV screen. You can then use the TV remote to navigate the phone, while it’s charging from the TV5.

2. Using screen mirroring technology, you can connect phones that are Miracast™ enabled to the TV2.

Theater-like 3D
Using the same passive 3D technology used in movie theaters, feel the explosive excitement of theater-like 3D. Even the sound profile is enhanced for 3D viewing to provide a more immersive experience4. Slip on the latest generation of light, comfortable 3D glasses to enjoy your favorite 3D movies. Four pairs included.

Against the grain
Dazzle the whole family with ultra-crisp HD clarity and less grain. Digital Noise Reduction enhances detail in whatever you're watching with meticulous processing. It even helps clean up video from USB and other PC sources so the picture looks pristine and vivid.

Compare Sony models
*Screen size measured diagonally: 70" class (69.5” diag.), 65" Class (64.5" diag.), 55" Class (54.6" diag.), 50" Class (49.5" diag.), 32" Class (31.5" diag.)
X900A
65*/55* W900A
55* W802A
55*/ 47 W650A
32* R550A
70*/ 60/ 50* R520A
60 R450A
40 R400A
32*
Display Resolution 4K Ultra HD6 Full HD
1080p Full HD
1080p Full HD
1080p Full HD
1080p Full HD
1080p Full HD
1080p HD
720p Picture Engine 4K X-Reality
PRO X-Reality
PRO X-Reality
PRO X-Reality
PRO Clear Resolution Enhancer Clear Resolution Enhancer Clear Resolution Enhancer Clear Resolution Enhancer TRILUMINOS Display – - – - – - LED Backlight Dynamic Edge LED Dynamic Edge LED Dynamic Edge LED Edge LED Edge LED Edge LED Direct LED Direct LED Motion Clarity Motionflow
XR 960 Motionflow
XR 960 Motionflow
XR 480 Motionflow
XR 240 Motionflow
XR 240 Motionflow
XR 240 Motionflow
XR 120 Motionflow
XR 120 One-Touch Mirroring (NFC)7 Optional – - – - – TV SideView Compatible – - – - Skype1 Video Calling – - – - Wi-Fi1 Built-in
(Netflix, Pandora, YouTube,
HuluPlus & more) – - Screen Mirroring (Miracast)2 – - Screen Mirroring (MHL)5 Sound Enhancements Magnetic Fluid (65W7 Power) Long Duct Speaker Cabinet Bass Reflex Speaker Cabinet Bass Reflex Speaker Cabinet – - – - Quartz–Cut Design – - – - -

1. Broadband speed of at least 2.5 Mbps recommended (10 Mbps for HD). Content subject to change and may require fees. Wireless connectivity requires 802.11 home network (802.11n recommended).
2. Requires smartphone with Wi-Fi certified Miracast technology. Certain formats are not supported.
3. Requires compatible DIRECTV Genie Whole Home HD DVR and TV be connected to the same wireless home network.
4. Requires 3D content, 3D player, HDMI cable (at least 10.2 Gbps) sold separately.
5. Requires Mobile High Definition Link-compatible smartphone to be connected to the TV with a Mobile High Definition Link cable, sold separately.
6. Actual panel resolution of XBR‐X900A 4K Ultra HD TV is 3,840 x 2,160 pixels (in 16:9 aspect ratio). HDTVs have a panel resolution of 1,920 x 1080 pixels.
7. 65 Watts total power (20+20+12.5+12.5)

Technical Details

  • Brand Name: : Sony
  • Model: : KDL-70R550A
  • Display Technology: : LED-lit
  • Display Size: : 70 inches
  • Image Aspect Ratio: : 16:09

Customer Reviews

Brilliant picture and 3D

 May 1, 2013
By Faisal Yaqoob
I generally like Plasmas for their better picture quality (I already own 5 HD TVs and this is the 6th one). The only reason I decided to go with LED TV was there’s no 70″ Plasma in the Market. And my 60″ looks too small in my great room – possibly because of high ceilings. After researching Sharp’s 70″ TV I decided to wait for Panasonic to come up with a 70″ Plasma, but then Sony came out with this. It was decently priced, had 3D, there were no reviews. But I decided to take a chance – given Sony’s reputation. I must say I am not disappointed!

The GOOD:

Overall Picture Quality:
Overall picture quality is good. I would say it is awesome given that it is not a Plasma yet Sony was able to produce brilliant blacks.

720p Quality:
Picture was not pixelated with 720p output from my Verizon box. I was able to see bigger picture without any quality degradation due to bigger size. It was really surprising. The picture was at least as good as on my 60″ Plasma on 720p.

1080p Quality:
I put in Avatar bluray movie and played it. I turned off all the lights to see how darks appear. Even with factory settings the result was amazing. After looking at the picture quality of this TV I can no longer argue with my friends that Plasma is superior than LED.

3D:
This TV uses passive 3D!!! And this was a pleasant surprise. I like passive 3D better than active 3D for two reasons.
1. In passive 3D TV produces two images at a time, while each lens in your polarized 3D glasses can see only one image which feeds different images to both eyes – resulting in 3D image in your brain. I like it because instead of glasses completely blinding your each eye one after the other some 240 times a second (active 3D), your both eyes just see different images – which I have found to put less stress on your eyes and brain.

2. Passive 3D glasses are cheap – these are the same one used in theaters. You can order around a dozen for less than 25 bucks. And they don’t need to be recharged and they are light in weight. Compare that to an active 3D glass where each cost a minimum of 50 bucks and you have to recharge them and they are not as lightweight as passive.

3D Quality:
Again, I restarted Avatar in 3D mode and the result was just WOW!!! My three year old daughter when walked across the TV I almost screamed that she is going to bump in the guy – but wait – the guy was in the movie. I am not kidding it happened a few times – that is when I noticed that 3D is just amazing – and it does have a pop-out effect usually experienced only in theaters. May be the screen size helped in producing life sized images.

Now the BAD:

Menu’s are not intuitive and has a slow response time. But I wouldn’t have given it 4 stars just for this reason. The reason I gave it four stars is that when changing resolution (i.e. when PlayStation goes from playing bluray video to home screen and back) the screen goes blank and TV stops responding to commands. I could still hear the sound but no picture. I have to turn it off and back on and I start to see the picture. This is most likely a manufacturing defect. I still have to contact Sony about it (as I just got TV last night). Will update the review when I have this resolved.

Tip:

I had my PlayStation connected with an old HDMI cable which worked fine with my old TV. When I connected PlayStation to the new TV with the same cable I was able to see the menus and stuff. However when I try to play a 3D movie the picture would go blank and I would hear sound after long pauses. I remembered reading somewhere that 3D requires newer faster HDMI cables. I had some newer HDMI cables in my stash. So when I changed it everything started working. So if you are unable to play 3D movies try a newer (I think ver 1.4 is required but I am not sure – just google it) HDMI cable.

EDIT 5/7/2013:

My issue above was resolved by a call to tech support. I had to unplug both TV and Playstation while they were “on”. Then disconnect the HDMI cable, wait for one minute and then plug TV and Playstation back in. Connect the HDMI cable. This resolved the issue above – so I updated my rating to 5 star!

Sony – the one and only – It’s a great TV, with some caveats

 June 15, 2013
By Jonathan C. Cauthorn
See the pics I posted!
It’s a great TV, for a good price. I like the remote, but it could have been better.

What I like:

1. It’s a Sony.
There’s something special about using Sony equipment, especially when you use a lot of their stuff, they work well together.

2. Bravia Sync:
This Bravia sync is cool, and it was unexpected – I can actually control my PS3 with the TV remote – yeah, that rocks. So I can put a blu-ray disk in the PS3, and use the TV remote to pause, play, select options and all that. I’ve got some other Sony stuff I have to hook up now to see how that single remote works with it. That’s just cool.

3. Great Picture:
It looks great. Ok, so I’m coming from a Sony 32″ picture tube that isn’t properly aligned anymore, but I’ve taken my time looking at TVs in the stores.

4. The Netflix button:
There’s a NetFlix button on the remote. I know, that’s not really a big deal, and I know my way around a remote, but it’s a cool feature. It’s nice that Netflix looks so good on the screen too. Considering my internet speed is just high enough to work most of the time without pauses on NetFlix, the picture is fantastic.

5. Great 3D:
The 3D is very good. I have only tried The Hobbit 3D so far, but my goodness it’s smooth and lifelike. I’m looking forward to playing with the controls on 3D tweaks. I’ve been saving my 3D glasses from theaters for over a year now so I have plenty of glasses for a house full of guests. The Real-3D glasses work great. So do the included Sony 3D glasses.

6. Keyboard and Mouse support via USB:
You can plug in a USB Keyboard and mouse, or a wireless keyboard and mouse, and that does work.

7. The TV is software up-gradable:
Granted, I found this out when I first went to set it up and found that there was a newer version already so I updated it. It’s nice to know that they have the ability to add or fix features (and most likely give the NSA more information about your viewing habits).

8. I particularly like the feel of the remote:
The back of the remote is not slippery or sticky – it’s a perfect balance in between. It has horizontal and vertical lines running the length and width of the remote. These seem to help you grip it better without being sticky.

What I don’t like or found irritating:

1. Noticeable lines in 3D when you are too close:
When I first put on the 3D glasses I was (apparently) too close to the TV and noticed the lines. Ug. That was irritating. When I went back to the couch, the lines disappeared or blended together and I didn’t notice it again. I have a Sony PS3 monitor with the Active Glasses so I know what full 1080p 3D looks like. As far as I can tell so far, when I’m sitting across the (not terribly large) room, there doesn’t seem to be much difference.

2. The Remote control is IR only:
The Remote Control is IR only. Really. I thought it would make much more sense to go to bluetooth or wifi or something. I’m used to the bluetooth remote on the PS3 and it doesn’t matter where you point it. Well, unless you point the IR in the general direction of the fire alarm which uses IR to put it in “test” mode which scares the cat and dogs and causes my son to get upset that I set it off —again—.

3. The Remote control has no keyboard:
When I was looking at TVs I was particularly enamored with the Vizio remote – it’s bluetooth and it has a FULL KEYBOARD on it! So, here I get this Sony TV which has no keyboard or even a simplified way to enter letters. Even the LG (or Toshiba? one of them) has a “magic remote” that works like a pointer device (like a mouse). So I was really disappointed that Sony didn’t have something more advanced for this.

4. No Skype:
No Skype on this model. Granted, it’s one less way for the NSA to monitor me, but the option would be nice Maybe with a software upgrade Sony? Or Other IM/video chat app like Google? Please?

5. Keyboard and Mouse only work in Browser:
When you plug in the wireless keyboard/mouse, they only work on the Opera Browser. Really Sony? Why? Why can’t I use it for searching in other apps like Hulu & Netflix? Please unlock the keyboard and mouse and set them free!

About my experience so far:

I’ve had this KDL-60R550A for a week and only had it setup for a couple days. I got it from buy dig which had the best price at the time and now Amazon appears to be matching it but always shop around first so you know.

I’ll try to add stuff as I discover it.

(Shameless plug) Did that help you?

Minor flashlighting, slow to connect wifi – otherwise, great!

 July 8, 2013
By dmron
I got the 70″ version of this TV a few weeks back for my new home theater setup. Despite a couple major flaws, overall I am quite happy. Blu-ray movies are stunning. Sitting about 10 feet from the screen, I almost feel like I’m in a theater. Netflix and Amazon video are pretty good too, although since they’re not as high bitrate as a blu-ray, you can definitely see some compression artifacts.

This is the first TV I’ve ordered from Amazon and I was a little scared honestly, but having people bring the TV into your house and set it up for you is quite handy to say the least. They don’t plug in all your devices, but they put it on the stand, make sure it works, and will help you place it on your media center table.

Pros:

- Excellent image quality.

- Screen lag is minimal, in regards to video games. I haven’t had to use “game mode”, the default seems fine.

- Menus are nice and speedy. Some people have said they’re are laggy but I don’t find that to be the case at all. Of the 3 smart TV’s I’ve owned (the others being LG and Vizio), this one is by far the best when it comes to nagigating menus.

- Fairly good/simple remote. I much prefer the LG Magic Remote but since most remotes are horrible these days, this one is good relative to the average remote.

- Lots of built in video apps – I only need Netflix, Amazon, and Youtube, but there’s plenty more to be had.

- Tons of inputs – I don’t need them for my setup as my receiver does HDMI switching for me, but it’s still nice to have so many built in.

- Passive 3D is a big pro in my opinion. Lighter glasses, less headaches, and no worrying about batteries, what’s not to like?

- Relatively thin bezel for the screen size, which makes the TV look attractive (except the chrome stand…sigh)

- The viewing angle seems good to me. I see *some* dimming when going more than about 30 degrees, but not as bad as some people seem to be saying. For my setup, this point is moot, as the room is fairly narrow. And who wants to watch a TV at more than 30 degrees off center anyways?

Cons:

- It takes a few minutes for it to connect to the internet when you first turn it on. This is *super* annoying and a few times I have just went ahead and turned on my PS3 and started up Netflix that way. The point of having “apps” on your TV is so you don’t have to use other devices for some functionality, so this is just dumb.

- My screen has the flashlight effect in 3 of the corners. Not nearly as bad as a lot of the pictures I’ve seen around the web, but still noticeable sometimes. I don’t notice it at all when playing video games. I rarely notice when watching movies. Only when the screen is almost entirely black, which isn’t that often. I mainly only see it when switching inputs on my receiver. It does annoy me, but if you want a TV this big, it’s pretty much impossible to get no flashlighting so you have to be willing to live with some degree of it.

- Weak wifi signal – My PS3 had no problems streaming Netflix in HD, but my TV could barely even connect to the router when I first got it (in the same room as the PS3). I had to get a wifi extender for it to get a good signal. And that’s fine anyways, as I like having a stronger signal everywhere throughout the house. So if you’re going to use wifi with this thing, make sure your router is not more than one or two rooms away, unless you have an extender.

- The energy saver stuff is ridiculously bad, but at least you can turn it off. Do so immediately or the screen will shut off entirely any time the screen turns 100% black and it won’t come back on unless you power cycle the TV. I can’t believe this passed QA!

- The screen is fairly reflective. Mine is in a dark room so it doesn’t affect me, but if you have windows behind your couches/chairs, you will definitely see reflections.

- I mentioned the menus are speedy before, but the *settings* menus are a bit confusing and poorly organized.

I have to drop half a star for both flashlighting and the time spent waiting for wifi after turning it on. Those are the only two major flaws for me. This TV is quite new so I’m sure a firmware update will fix the wifi issue in the future, at which point I would revise my rating to 4.5 stars. But since I can’t give half a star, it will remain a 4-star rating even if that gets fixed.

** UPDATE, 2013-10-22 **
So it’s been a few months. Amazingly, the flashlighting just went away on its own after a month or so. One corner still has it *barely* and I only see it when the screen is 100% black, but it’s completely gone from the rest of the screen. I didn’t know such a thing could occur.

Also, a firmware update must have fixed the wifi issue as it now connects much faster. Still not quite as fast as I’d like, but generally within 20 seconds it’s connected.

These were my only two major complaints with the TV and since they’re both fixed, I’m revising to 5 stars. I absolutely *love* this TV!

Solution for blank screen during gaming on xbox, ps3 or while watching movies

 August 22, 2013
By C. Vela
Just a quick note on how to fix the annoying issue of the TV going blank while gaming or trying to watch a movie; It seems that Sony is having a little fun with us with their eco settings and the TV seemingly interprets the change of source like a game or movie as an incorrect single and you will end up with a blank screen resulting in having to turn the TV off and back on again which is highly cumbersome;

The simple solution is as follows:

Click “Home” Button on the remote

Scroll down and select Settings

Scroll down and select Eco

Turn all Settings in the Eco menu to Off

Problem solved and you should have no issues with the blank screen going forward; Hope this helps and that you enjoy the TV as much as I do!

Stunning Picture Quality

 June 30, 2013
By Edward
Here are the picture settings I got from calibrating this Sony TV using Spears & Munsil HD Calibration Disc and a second free calibration disc. I also pulled & compared several settings from the AVS Forum where many posters had posted their calibration settings (thanks to previous reviewer DCT for the link to the AVS Forum).

Open Settings, choose Eco then turn OFF Light Sensor
Open Settings, choose Picture, then Picture Mode and choose Custom.
Scroll down and then turn OFF Noise Reduction, MPEG Noise Reduction, Motionflow & CineMotion
Scroll down and choose Advance Settings, then turn off Adv. Contrast Enhancer, Black Corrector, Clear White, Live Color and LED Motion Mode (set Gamma to zero)
Scroll up and make the following settings:
Backlight: 5
Picture: 85 (Picture, or contrast, adjusts the intensity of light and brightens white images)
Brightness: 53 (Brightness adjusts the level of black images)
Color: 48
Hue: 0
Sharpness: Min (0) – Set no higher than 8
Color Temperature: Neutral
Scroll down to Advance Settings and then set Adv. Contrast Enhancer to Low

This looks spectacular with a Hi-Def source, but looks way too bright when viewing Standard Def channels. So I set up a 2nd setting in the Picture Mode of Standard.

Open Settings, choose Picture, then Picture Mode and choose Standard (choosing Vivid does not give you access to Advance Settings).
Backlight: 5
Picture: 42
Brightness: 50
Color: 40
Hue: 0
Sharpness: Min (0)
Color Temperature: Neutral
Scroll down to Advance Settings then set Adv. Contrast Enhancer to Medium
Leave everything else set to off or zero

I leave the television’s Picture Mode in Standard while channel surfing (Hi & Standard Definition). I switch Picture Mode to Custom (press the OPTIONS button on your remote and choose Picture Mode) when I’m watching Hi-Def channel, movie or blueray. These settings may not exactly match the settings that will work in your room, and I’m certainly no expert, but this should get you started.

The picture quality is stunning and the passive 3D is just plain fun to watch. My only issue is that I cannot get the Netflix app to connect to Netflix. Sony’s tech support has been unable to fix the issue either. The included Amazon Instant Video app and all other apps work fine.

Edit 07/20/2013: Sony’s tech support fixed the Netflix connection issues. We had to customize the TV’s network IP settings and now connects fine.

Waited six months to write an honest review.

 November 7, 2013
By daniel
I wanted to wait a few months before I made this review. That being said I am very happy with the purchase. I will keep it simple with a good/bad list.
The bad,
1. Start up screen/ black screen seems to have shades of light (some describe as pizza effect from actual screen glass).
2. Sometimes glitchy in the apps. Netflix sometimes locks up and YouTube sometimes just shuts down, and it’s had 3-4 software updates that I’m aware of.
3. If you are going to be viewing this tv from a close range this probably isn’t the one for you. That being said up close is not where it shines.
4. Blacks aren’t as dark as I would like, but it’s an led so it’s expected.
5. Not too impressed with the 3d. Seems like the further away you are from the tv the better it gets, but maybe it’s just me?
6. Remote is nothing special, but it gets the job done.
7. Can’t change any tv settings when you are in an app.
What I like about it,
1. Has an awesome color/ picture when viewed 5-6 feet away.
2. Sound is better than expected.
3. Love the wifi- apps. Use them more than expected.
4. Has a WOW factor from a viewing standpoint, and not some crazy design like some tv’s this size. Get complements on it a lot.
5. Is a very practical smart tv. You do not need a PhD to operate the wifi or app features or remote.
6. Sony support was great when I called with a few questions.
Over all this has been a great fit for me. I know they say bigger is better, but if you have a smaller room and plan on getting a 70"+ tv you probably need to get a 4k for the up close viewing. I would recommend this line of SONY tv’s to anyone that is in the market for a smart tv. Hope this information helps you make a smart purchase.

Amazing picture, 3D & Poor Side Angle View

 October 31, 2013
By C. Tukkadi
I brought Sony 70 inch panel R550A (Sony KDL-70R550A) to replace my 60 inch LG Plasma TV. When I first switch “On” this TV, I was so disappointed and remembering my previous TV and how good it was. Colors and picture was not looking good on this new TV. I was playing with settings, that’s it. TV start displaying solid/vibrant colors and amazing picture. This TV really need settings adjustment to make you happy on your purchase. I am listing my settings below, hoping it might be help you on fine tuning your TV.

Sony advertised this TV give a Theatre like 3D, yes.. believe me, 3D is amazing on this TV. I also have 46 inch Sony NX711 3D TV which is active 3d model, but I like the 3D on R550A. This TV comes with 4 pair of Sony passive 3D glasses. I purchased additional 4 pairs for each $9.99.

I am using Sony sound bar Sony HT-CT660 as external sound for my TV. Sony HT-CT660 will take 3 HDMI inputs and it has one HDMI out. You have to connect Sound bar’s HDMI out to TV’s ARC HDMI port. On back of TV, you will see HDMI 1 port have ARC (Audio Return Channel). If you connected to HDMI ARC, you do not need a separate audio out cable from TV to connect your home theatre systems. HDMI ARC will send the audio to your home theater through HDMI cable while video is playing on TV. This is useful when you are watching the YouTube or Netflix etc. on TV using built in Wi-Fi feature.

Connected to Wi-Fi and it is fast enough to view Netflix, Youtube and other internet apps.

This TV also has the web browser, so you can browse the websites. I tried to browse the [...] the entire website’s home page displayed on the TV screen. Looks beautiful. The only issue I felt, it is not easy to click the links on the website using remote. I think wireless keyboard and mouse might be help on browsing the site, but I didn’t tried. I am happy with my laptop to browse the sites. I want to use my TV to watch the video content, but not for browsing sites.

One of the feature on this TV is “Screen Mirroring”. If you have Sony cell phone or Sony tablet, you can mirror the phone and tablet’s content to TV using wireless connection. I have iphone and ipad, so I am not depending on this feature. I always use Apple TV (Apple TV MD199LL/A ) to mirror my ipad on TV screen. The good thing about Apple TV is, it works with any TV equipped with HDMI port. So I am good here.

I rated this TV as 4 stars due to one reason. Side view is not good on this TV. If your room is not wider, probably you might not noticed the side angle issues. I noticed, if I move away from TV screen to more than 30 degrees left or right, picture looks with faded colors. I was reading somewhere, this TV is not suitable for wall mount due to side angle issues. Anyways, I mounted to wall and I liked it on the wall.

I would like to give 5 out 5 for this TV, but due to side angle view issues, my overall rating is 4 stars.

The settings I am listing here will improve the picture quality and minimize the side angle view issues.

Picture Mode: Custom
Backlight: 5
Picture: 85
Brightness: 40
Color: 58
Hue: G2
Sharpness: 15
Color Temperature: Warm
Noise Reduction: Medium
MPEG Noise Reduction: Medium
Motionflow: Off
CineMotion: Auto 1
Advance Settings: Off (All settings are Off; Gamma is 0)

Eco Settings: Off (All settings under Eco, Off)

In a word…WOW

 August 15, 2013
By Matthew Herrera
I have literally been buying a new TV on average every year and a half or so. I always go for the mid line, new technology as I feel that’s where I get the most value. This time, I knew exactly what I wanted. I was looking for an LED with at least 120MHZ refresh rate somewhere between 47-55 inches. When I found this, I thought something had to be wrong for a Sony (which I’ve always looked at as top of the line) to meet all these specs and be at this price. What’s even better is it is a 2013 model Sony. I was skeptical until I turned the TV on. Wow. Picture is beautiful; right out of the box. Amazing clarity, color, blacks, you name it. SEN apps work perfect. Internet set up super easy. Only drawback is remote could be a little nicer, but that is hardly worth mentioning at this value. For this price, good luck finding better. Super satisfied with this purchase.

Best 70 available

 August 5, 2013
By MP06011999 "RESEARCHER"
I’m pretty happy with my 70 incher.

The image is amazingly brilliant. I love the depth, color, contrast – just overall a really nice picture once properly calibrated.

I was concerned originally because of the clouding on black scenes that is inherent to LCD and that issue was obvious on this tv in my VERY dark room. But I learned a few things. First was to loosen the 8 screws at the corners of the frame. Didn’t seem to make a difference. Then I massaged the screen with a microfiber towel while it was on. This made the most dramatic improvement. It spread out the clouding, making it almost unnoticeable. Then I was instructed to let some light in the room – don’t watch it in a cave. And reduce the backlighting a bit. Now I don’t believe I can see ANY clouding.

The apps on the tv itself run fine enough, if not great, but I use the PS3 99.9% of the time for that anyhow. All inputs are run through a Darbee and look great to awesome. I highly recommend a Darbee for any big display.

I had a Vizio E series for a month and hated it. The picture was nice, but the apps were sluggish. The wifi unusable and the LED edge lighting looked horrible. The audio never matched the image – always out of time. The tv would freeze up, make a loud “pop” and shut off. It was worth the extra money to buy this Sony. No regrets. I cannot see any edge lighting “dots” on the Sony.

I did like the way Vizio has their jacks to plug in parallel to the back of the tv where the Sony has them come in at a 90. That could make it a little difficult for those of you that want the tv snug against the wall. Mine is on a full-motion mount and so I have plenty of room, but some tilt-only mounts may make it a bit tight for cabling sticking straight out the back. That’s just a stupid design Sony! I can’t comment on the stand that comes with it as mine is wall mounted. I would have liked one more analog audio in, but no display EVER gives you all the ports you want.

I never thought I’d care for 3D, but have found that I actually do like it. The tv’s simulated 3D for 2D sources brings out alot of detail that would otherwise go unnoticed. I love that this tv is passive 3D = cheap glasses.

Gaming has been awesome. I don’t play on-line so can’t comment about any lag with multi-player games. I’ve noticed no lag playing campaign mode. Oh, and 3D gaming is AWESOME! Audio ALWAYS matches the video on every source I put to it. It never needs adjusting.

I like the somewhat matte screen. Cannot stand the mirror screens of Samsung. I hate seeing reflections in my tv and a 70 inch is an awful lot of flat area to pick up every little light in the room. No issues here.

Flat screens never have enough sound for me so you really should do something extra for the sound. I tried soundbars over the years and hate them. I never want an HT set up in my bedroom (where this tv is) so years ago I just added some remote speakers with their own amps to the nightstands of the bed. I ran 3.5mm stereo cables to ‘em and the sound is perfect for what I wanted. The tv has a 3.5mm audio out – perfect.

The menus are a little convoluted but with enough time, you learn your way around them fast enough. I don’t use motion flow control as I HATE soap opera effect. Most if not all PQ fake effects are set to “off”.

No freakish behavior from this tv at all. I don’t give it 5 stars simply because it has the clouding that I had to deal with. Even if that is normal for LCD, doesn’t mean I gotta like it. The 50 inch Panny plasma that this is replacing had ZERO issues to overcome except for being too small after 5 years and producing alot of heat as plasmas do. Only an issue because I live in the desert. Anyhow, LCD has some shortcomings that I do not feel plasmas have so I doubt I would ever give any LCD 5 stars. And you can believe all the trash talk about plasmas if you want, but I never experienced any problems. I switched to LCD simply because of the heat, prices and choices in 70+ inch displays.

Anyhow, so glad I didn’t decide to exchange this set. It would have been over the very minor clouding, but I think that has been managed now. It’s been a month with this tv and now I can finally breakdown and store the box away in the garage. She’s a keeper!

Time to enjoy it……

BTW, at the time I placed the Amazon order it was $2199 delivered and came with a promotional:
*Year of Netflix,
*Year of Hulu Plus,
*30 days of Sony Music Unlimited (junk) and
*2% cashback rewards good on Amazon.

NOTE: Amazon delivery does not help you set it up, mount it or put it on the stand – NOTHING. Pilot sends ONE guy with a dolly. You help him carry it in and unbox it. He plugs it in to make sure the screen comes on and that’s it. Amazon would have you to believe that their delivery of big tvs is something special. From the 3 I’ve had delivered, not so. Plan on having a buddy help you to lift it onto the stand or wall.

The BEST TV with Excellent Picture & Excellent 3D depth I have ever seen rite out of the box – without much settings

 May 16, 2013
By Chetan Veerappa Shirol
If you are looking for the best mid range 2013 TV with excellent Picture and 3D depth, then look no further than SONY R550A. More over 3D experience is surprisingly awesome. Read on for my experience.

I spent lot of time in comparing TVs and looking in best buy & reading reviews but I never liked any med range TVs. I looked at 2013 Samsung (series 6 & 7) F6400, F7100 and LG 47LA7400 / 47LA6900 but all of them had issues. LG has not so accurate colors and light bleeding from corner. In Best Buy showroom I was able to find light bleeding/clouding from the corners. Samsung on the other hand screen brightness uniformity issues and their smart TV interface is not user friendly. Worried if I bring home any of these then in dark room more issues may pop up.

But when I looked this R550A, I felt like this is it. First one glance changed my mind away towards it. That’s SONY for you. I am so confident that I didn’t take any extra warranty on it. Only other TV that comes close / beats is from SHARP but they are expensive.

Pros/The Good:
- Great brightness (turn off the energy saving and auto light settings for more brighter picture)
- Very good screen uniformity from Edge to Edge and no light bleeding.
– Excellent picture from Blu-Ray and from streaming services like Netflix, youtube and others.
- ABOVE ALL – The best 3D experience I ever had. Pictures pop out straight out of the box (watched Avatar and sample videos from Sony Entertainment streaming services). I previously watched 3D at Best Buy on a Samsung, LG and Panasonic and I was never impressed this much. No flicker or crosstalk and I even set the 3D depth to high and no issues. Plus Polarized glasses – no battery.
- Motionflow XR 240 does work great. If source video is Full HD I prefer to keep Motionflow off or to medium and MPEG and Digital Noise reduction to medium since you already know the video from source is excellent and this should not be processed further else SOP opera effect. But want to let you know that you have all optional settings to tweak best or poor video quality signals accordingly.
- Decent SD quality video up scaling to HD. Keep Motionflow XR 240 to High herr and other MPEG and Noise reduction to high/Med which will smoothen out videos.
- Excellent sound – it will not balst but all sounds are distinctly heard and loud enough (no bass though).
- Has all the connectivity options – MHL, good Wi-Fi, Miracast, smartphone on TV, Ethernet etc…
- Very good Sony Entertainment Network streaming services.

Cons:
- Wish Sony gave X-Reality PRO engine here since this is supposed to be med range TV.
- No game mode. I have Wii U and never faced any problems though. Looks like with MotionFlow 240, a separate game mode is not required. So Sony might have removed it.
- There are no advanced picture settings once you enter the Sony Streaming services. But this is not a problem for me since I use blu-ray player for streaming services in which case I can make all settings for Pictures while streaming.

Just to let you guys know: 3D is so good that I returned Samsung Blu-Ray player and brought SONY Blu-Ray player thinking it will have even more 3D effect.
Again this Sony product may not look futuristic like Samsung or LG, futuristic remotes (touch/motion remote etc) but it beats easily 2013 Samsung series 6 & 7 and LG 6* & 7* in picture quality, 3D depth perception, Setting options, simple easy to use remote (nice tactile feedback and spacing between keys) and Excellent SONY reputation and build quality. You can’t go wrong with this product and that too with free Blu-Ray player and 2 extra glasses, is like icing on the cake.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>